Jump to main content (Skip Navigation)
Purdue University Graduate School

Graduate School Staff

 

The Dean's Office

Contact Information:
Young Hall, Room 160
155 S. Grant Street
West Lafayette, IN 47907-2114
Phone: (765) 494-0245
Fax: (765) 494-0136
Email: gradinfo@purdue.edu

Staff Member Photo M. J. T. Smith, Ph.D.
Dean
gradinfo@purdue.edu
(765) 494-2604
Staff Member Photo Phillip E. Pope, Ph.D.
Senior Associate Dean
ppope@purdue.edu
(765) 494-6963
Tom Atkinson Thomas W. Atkinson, Ph.D.
Associate Dean
tatkinson@purdue.edu
(765) 494-0245
Staff Member Photo Jon A. Story, Ph.D.
Senior Associate Dean
jastory@purdue.edu
(765) 494-6963
Staff Member Photo Linda J. Mason, Ph.D.
Associate Dean
lmason@purdue.edu
(765) 494-0245
Staff Member Photo Casey Hollingsworth
Administrative Assistant
chollingsworth@purdue.edu
(765) 494-2604
Staff Member Photo Mary Beth (Betsy) Ayers
Receptionist (Temporary)
(765) 494-0245

 

Admissions

The Office of Graduate Admissions is responsible for graduate student admissions and graduate student recruitment on the West Lafayette campus. The admissions team manages both the system-wide electronic application and the campus-based prospective student relationship management system. Each year, the Graduate School receives nearly 18,000 applications with about 4,500 applicants recommended for admisisons on the West Lafayette campus. The Office of Graduate Admissions reviews and processes the recommendation for admission, sends the official letter of admission, monitors academic and other conditions accompanying admission, and generates relevant data reports. The Office of Graduate Admissions also offers workshops and online resources for prospective students, attends recruitment events, coordinates the Big Ten+ Graduate School Expo, and assists students with questions throughout the pre-application, application, and admissions process. Additionally, the admissions team serves as a resource to Purdue's graduate programs, offering recruitment consultations, promotional materials, and guidance on the admisisons process.

Contact Information:
Young Hall, Room 170
155 S. Grant Street
West Lafayette, IN 47907-2114
Phone: (765) 494-2600
Fax: (765) 494-0136
Email: gradinfo@purdue.edu
Staff Member Photo Janet Beagle, Ph.D.
Director
jbeagle@purdue.edu
(765) 496-3310
Staff Member Photo Michelle Goodin
Graduate Admissions Manager
mgoodin@purdue.edu
(765) 494-2600
Staff Member Photo Bonnie Lamb
Credentials Analyst
bjlamb@purdue.edu
(765) 494-2600
Staff Member Photo Shih-Ping Kuo
Graduate Assistant
skuo@purdue.edu
(765) 496-1314
Staff Member Photo JoAnne M. Sandifur
Assistant Director
jsandifur@purdue.edu
(765) 494-2600
Staff Member Photo Jeff Goecker
Marketing & Communications Manager
jgoecker@purdue.edu
(765) 494-2600
Staff Member Photo Christina L. Fugate
Administrative Assistant
cfugate@purdue.edu
(765) 496-3310
Staff Member Photo William Peck
Graduate Assistant
wjpeck@purdue.edu
(765) 496-1314

 

Alliance for Graduate Education and the Professoriate

AGEP is a National Science Foundation (NSF) program in the Directorate for Education and Human Resources, Division of Human Resource Development. The program is intended to increase significantly the number of domestic students receiving doctoral degrees in the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM), with special emphasis on those population groups underrepresented in these fields (i.e., African Americans, Hispanics, American Indians, Alaska Natives, Native Hawaiians or other Pacific Islanders). In addition, AGEP is particularly interested in increasing the number of minorities who will enter the professoriate in these disciplines. Specific objectives of the AGEP program are (1) to develop and implement innovative models for recruiting, mentoring, and retaining minority students in STEM doctoral programs, and (2) to develop effective strategies for identifying and supporting underrepresented minorities who want to pursue academic careers.

Contact Information:
Young Hall, Room 68
155 S. Grant Street
West Lafayette, IN 47907-2114
Phone: (765) 494-7899
Fax: (765) 496-1188
Email: agep@purdue.edu

Staff Member Photo Kathy G. Dixon, Ph.D.
Program Director
kgdixon@purdue.edu
(765) 496-1123
Staff Member Photo Kiersti Cunningham
Secretary
kcunningham@purdue.edu
(765) 494-7899
Staff Member Photo Joseph Chaney
Graduate Assistant
jchaney@purdue.edu
(765) 496-3848
Staff Member Photo Rachelle Henderson
Graduate Assistant
hender13@purdue.edu
(765) 496-3868

 

Business Office

Contact Information:
Young Hall, Room 105
155 S. Grant Street
West Lafayette, IN 47907-2114
Email: gradinfo@purdue.edu

Shelly Estes Shelly Estes
Account Clerk
estesr@purdue.edu
(765) 494-2251
vacant Marci Moore
Fellowship Account Assistant
moore109@purdue.edu
(765) 494-7056
Heather Toro Heather Toro
Director of Financial Affairs
htoro@purdue.edu
(765) 494-1558

 

Fellowships

  • Administers the Graduate School fellowships;
  • Assists in the development and implementation of the University-wide fellowship program focused on recruitment and retention of graduate students through graduate training grants, fellowship endowments, and graduate student initiatives;
  • Advises students on available funding opportunities
  • Fosters advancement activities such as proposal development, gift cultivation, solicitation, stewardship and other activities supporting graduate student fellowships and Graduate School programs.
Contact Information:
Young Hall, Room 160
155 S. Grant Street
West Lafayette, IN 47907-2114
Phone: (765) 494-2598
Fax: (765) 494-0136
Email: fellowships@purdue.edu

Staff Member Photo Cynthia D. Lynch
Director
clynch@purdue.edu
(765) 494-2598
Christine Bombyk Christine Fultz
Administrative Assistant
clfultz@purdue.edu
(765) 494-2598

 

Graduate Programs

The Graduate Programs Office (GPO) oversees the development of all academic graduate programs including, all graduate degrees, certificates, concentrations, and courses for approximately 100 graduate departments across Purdue's five campuses. The Graduate Council, the faculty body responsible for making academic policies and approving new graduate programs and courses, is under the purview of the Graduate Programs Office. The GPO is responsible for implementation of academic and administrative policies involving graduate education for the system-wide Graduate School, recognizing the origin of policies and the impact of policy changes to other campuses and offices.

Contact Information:
Young Hall, Room 160
155 S. Grant Street
West Lafayette, IN 47907-2114
Phone: (765) 494-2600
Fax: (765) 494-0136
Email: gradinfo@purdue.edu

Staff Member Photo Tina L. Payne
Graduate Programs Administrator
tlpayne@purdue.edu
(765) 494-2600
Staff Member Photo Debra S. Fellure
Clerk
dfellure@purdue.edu
(765) 494-6963
Carolyn Watson Vacant
Clerk
(765) 496-7360

 

Information Management and Analysis

The IMA office of the Graduate School oversees all computer related equipment and software applications, as well as electronic processes, within the Graduate School. This includes the Graduate School's web site, and all associated sites, the POS generator, workshop registration, and all aspects of the Graduate School Database. The IMA staff also provides graduate student information and analytical support for departmental and University-wide data requests and reporting, including external surveys.
Submit a Data Request.

Contact Information:
Young Hall, Room B-80
155 S. Grant Street
West Lafayette, IN 47907-2114
Phone: (765) 494-2600
Fax: (765) 494-0136
Email: gradinfo@purdue.edu

Staff Member Photo Donald E. Brier
Director
brierd@purdue.edu
(765) 494-0304
Staff Member Photo Meng Deng
Assessment Data Analyst
deng18@purdue.edu
(765) 494-6491
Staff Member Photo Shweta Gupte
Graduate Assistant
IT Support
Staff Member Photo Madhumathy Natesan Ramamurthy
Graduate Assistant
Database Programmer
Staff Member Photo Bhoomika Chilakamarri
Graduate Assistant
Database Programmer
Staff Member Photo Vinod Penmetsa
Graduate Assistant
Database Programmer
Staff Member Photo Jeff E. Bridgham
Data Analyst
bridgham@purdue.edu
(765) 494-9255
Staff Member Photo Matt Lemming
Statistical Data Analyst
mlemming@purdue.edu
(765) 494-5710
Staff Member Photo Wenying Luo
Graduate Assistant
Data Support
Staff Member Photo Vinayak Shenoy
Graduate Assistant
Web Developer
Staff Member Photo Fizi Yadav
Graduate Assistant
Web Developer

 

Interdisciplinary Graduate Programs (OIGP)

The Office of Interdisciplinary Graduate Programs (OIGP) was established to promote and facilitate more cross-disciplinary research at Purdue. Through this office, the Graduate School supports and enhances interdisciplinary academic programs that mirror the ever-evolving world of contemporary research.

Contact Information:
Young Hall, Room B-40
155 S. Grant Street
West Lafayette, IN 47907-2114
Phone: (765) 496-1016
Fax: (765) 496-1188
Email: oigp@purdue.edu

Staff Member Photo Colleen Gabauer, Ed.D.
Director
cgabauer@purdue.edu
(765) 496-1016
Staff Member Photo Emily Bramson
Student Services Coordinator
bramson@purdue.edu
(765) 494-5865
Staff Member Photo Anita Park
Educational Programs Coordinator
apark@purdue.edu
(765) 494-0379
Staff Member Photo Lisa E. McCloud
Secretary
lisa1@purdue.edu
Staff Member Photo Elizabeth Chandler
Data Coordinator
elizabeth-chandler@purdue.edu
(765) 496-9667
Staff Member Photo Karen Sue Malady
Secretary PULSe Operations
kmalady@purdue.edu
(765) 496-1635
Staff Member Photo Christal Musser
Program Coordinator for ESE
musser@purdue.edu
(765) 494-2102

 

Multicultural Programs

The Office of Multicultural Programs for the Graduate School is dedicated to recruiting underrepresented students for the many graduate programs that are offered by Purdue University. We are committed to retaining these students by seeking opportunities for funding, providing mentoring and networking opportunities, offering seminars and social activities, and maintaining frequent contact with students while they are in residence on the campus, and as they enter careers following graduation.

Contact Information:
Young Hall, Room 170
155 S. Grant Street
West Lafayette, IN 47907-2114
Phone: (765) 494-0945
Fax: (765) 494-0136
Email: gradinfo@purdue.edu

Staff Member Photo Dwight E. Lewis, Ph.D.
Director
delewis@purdue.edu
(765) 494-0945
Staff Member Photo Godfrey Wachira
Assistant
gwachira@purdue.edu
Staff Member Photo Melissa Danner
Administrative Assistant
dannerm@purdue.edu
(765) 494-0945
Staff Member Photo Vacant
Work-Study student

 

Professional Development

Contact Information:
Young Hall, Romm 160
155 S. Grant Street
West Lafayette, IN 47907-2114
Phone: (765) 494-2598
Fax: (765) 494-0136
Email: fellowships@purdue.edu

Staff Member Photo Cynthia D. Lynch
Director
clynch@purdue.edu
(765) 494-2598
Angelitta Britt Angelitta Britt
Graduate Assistant

profdev@purdue.edu
Joe Lin Joe J.J. Lin
Graduate Assistant

profdev@purdue.edu

 

Records

About 9,400 Purdue graduate students are enrolled system-wide. Each degree-seeking graduate student submits a plan of study, takes a final examination (doctoral students also take a preliminary examination), and must meet Graduate School requirements to receive a degree. The Records staff reviews and approves plans of study and changes to plans of study, oversees the scheduling and reporting of examinations, handles degree audits, and certifies candidates for degrees. The Records staff permanently maintains -- for each graduate student -- a record of key documents. A range of Graduate School forms, ranging from applications for Research in Absentia to Requests for Transfer of Department are handled by Records staff members. In carrying out their responsibilities, Records staff members serve as an important resource for graduate students, faculty, and staff. They also work closely with colleagues in the Office of the Registrar.

Contact Information:
Young Hall, Room 170
155 S. Grant Street
West Lafayette, IN 47907-2114
Phone: (765) 494-2600
Fax: (765) 494-0136
Email: gradinfo@purdue.edu

Staff Member Photo Patricia A. Springer
Graduate Records Manager
paspring@purdue.edu
(765) 494-2600
Staff Member Photo Ryan Siroky
Credentials Analyst
(765) 494-2600
Staff Member Photo Meghan Smith
Credentials Analyst
smith243@purdue.edu
(765) 494-2600
Staff Member Photo Nicole Barr
Graduate Records Coordinator
nbarr@purdue.edu
(765) 494-2600
Staff Member Photo Trienna Walker
Credentials Analyst
walke243@purdue.edu
(765) 494-2600
Stephanie Keller Stephanie Keller
Records Clerk
stephaniekeller2@purdue.edu
(765) 494-2600

 

Thesis/Dissertation Office

The Thesis/Dissertation Office ensures candidate compliance with formatting and deposit requirements as stated in the current thesis manual. The office processes paper and electronic theses/dissertations for placement in Purdue Undergraduate Library Storage or submission to ProQuest Information & Learning for microfilming and digitization. The office also provides instructional outreach to candidates, departments, staff, and faculty via scheduled thesis formatting and deposit workshops.

Contact Information:
Young Hall, B-80
155 S. Grant Street
West Lafayette, IN 47907-2114
Phone: (765) 494-3231
Fax: (765) 494-0136
Email: gradinfo@purdue.edu

Staff Member Photo Mark D. Jaeger
Manager
markj@purdue.edu
(765) 496-3157
Nancy Florence Nancy Florence
Receptionist
nflorenc@purdue.edu
(765) 494-3231
Staff Member Photo Anne Lacy
Thesis/Dissertation Assistant
alacy@purdue.edu
(765) 496-3312