Jump to main content (Skip Navigation)
Purdue University Graduate School
Prepare for Graduate School
  Purdue News

Grad School Main > How to Apply > English Speaking Countries

The Graduate School will routinely waive the TOEFL/IELTS for applicants who have received a baccalaureate degree or graduate or professional degree, within the last 24 months, from a school where English is the primary language of instruction in a country/location where English is the native language.

Official English-speaking countries/locations, in addition to the U.S., include:

Anguilla Liberia
Antigua and Barbuda Malta
Australia Micronesia
Bahamas Montserrat
Bahrain Namibia
Bangladesh New Zealand
Barbados Nigeria
Belize Norfolk Island
Bermuda Pakistan
Botswana Philippines
British Virgin Islands Pitcarin Islands
Canada Republic of Ireland
Cayman Islands Seychelles
Christmas Island Sierra Leone
Cook Islands Singapore
Dominica St. Helena
Falkland Islands St. Kitts and Nevis
Fiji St. Lucia
The Gambia St. Vincent and Grenadines
Ghana Swaziland
Gibraltar Tanzania
Grenada Trinidad and Tobago
Guernsey Tonga
Guyana Turks and Caicos Islands
Isle of Man Uganda
Jamaica United Kingdom,
Kenya Zambia
Lesotho Zimbabwe